Home Teams Recent Match Report – West Indies vs South Africa 3rd ODI 2022/23

Recent Match Report – West Indies vs South Africa 3rd ODI 2022/23


Toss South Africa chose to bowl vs West Indies

Aiden Markram, South Africa’s new T20I captain, got an early introduction to white-ball captaincy and had to stand in for injured ODI skipper Temba Bavuma, who had a hamstring niggle. Bavuma felt discomfort during his century in Saturday’s match, and has been left out as a precaution with South Africa still to play two crucial ODIs this season – the World Cup Super League matches against Netherlands on March 31 and April 2.

South Africa made four changes to the XI that lost to West Indies at the weekend. Markram, who was rested for that match, came in for Bavuma which left South Africa all change up top. Ryan Rickelton and Tony de Zorzi were carded to open, with Quinton de Kock left out. Markram was down at No. 3, with Reeza Hendricks unavailable after cutting his right index finger.

Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, who was back from the PSL, and Wayne Parnell replaced Tristan Stubbs, Tabraiz Shamsi and de Kock. On a dry surface, South Africa opted for just one spinner in Bjorn Fortuin. Sisanda Magala was also out after splitting the webbing in his right hand.

West Indies kept the same team that beat South Africa, and were happy with the decision to set the hosts a target again.

A fairly big crowd is expected in the university town of Potchefstroom, with today being a public holiday in South Africa: it is the Human Rights’ Day, which commemorates the 69 victims of the Sharpeville Massacre, killed by Apartheid police in 1960.

South Africa: 1 Ryan Rickelton, 2 Tony de Zorzi, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Heinrich Klaasen (wk), 6 David Miller, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Bjorn Fortuin 10 Gerald Coetzee, 11 Lungi Ngidi

West Indies: 1 Kyle Mayers, 2 Brandon King, 3 Shamarh Brooks, 4 Shai Hope (capt, wk), 5 Nicholas Pooran, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder, 8 Odean Smith, 9 Yannick Cariah, 10 Akeal Hosein, 11 Alzarri Joseph

Source link

Related Articles